momswhotriblog

Train…Race…Inspire

Going Raw

on August 16, 2012

I just recently purchased an amazing blender called the OmniBlend V. I have to admit that I have been coveting the Vitamix and the Blendtec for a while but could not bring myself (and my budget) to purchase it. With the blender came a book written by Carmella Soleil called “Deliciously Raw”.  In the cookbook I found amazingly simple and delicious recipes as well as Carmella’s story about moving to a fully raw diet. Both Abby and I have long since been a proponent of Clean Eating, which I will go in to more detail about next time, but I felt I needed to do more research about what raw eating entailed and its proposed benefits. Here is what I found out:

What it is:

The raw food diet is based on the belief that the most healthful food for the body is uncooked. Although most food is eaten raw, heating food is acceptable as long as the temperature stays below 104 to 118 degrees Fahrenheit (the cutoff temperature varies among those in the raw food community). Cooking is thought to denature the enzymes naturally present in food. According to raw foodists, enyzymes are the life force of a food, helping us to digest food and absorb nutrients. If we overconsume cooked food, our bodies are forced to work harder by producing more enzymes. Over time, a lack of enzymes from food is thought to lead to digestive problems, nutrient deficiency, accelerated aging, and weight gain.

What do you eat?

There are different ways that people follow a raw food diet. Most people who follow a raw food diet are vegan. Some consume raw animal products, such as raw milk, cheese made from raw milk, sashimi, ceviche (raw fish), or carpaccio (raw meat). Some people eat only raw foods, while others include cooked food for variety and convenience. The percentage of raw food is usually 70 percent or more of the diet. I also found that there were a variety of websites out there that offered recipes and ideas of how to incorporate the raw lifestyle in to a working one. A few are:

The Sunny Raw Kitchen: http://thesunnyrawkitchen.blogspot.com/

Rawmazing:  http://www.rawmazing.com/rawmazing-recipes/

Gone Raw: http://goneraw.com/recipes

We Like It Raw: http://www.welikeitraw.com/rawfood/raw-food-recipes.html

I am not sure that I am ready to completely stop cooking my food but the information out there about the Raw Food Diet is pretty convincing. Since purchasing my blender and doing the research I have tried to incorporate even more raw foods in to my diet then before. I have to admit that I can feel the increase in energy. Any thoughts, ideas, or suggestions?


2 responses to “Going Raw

  1. kiddy2104 says:

    Eating raw food seams so logic, but yet a little hard to do:(
    A friend of mine started 2 years ago a diet consisting of 80% raw foods and as a result she almost cure her knees arthroses!!!

  2. […] last week’s article I discussed “the Raw Food Diet” and I mentioned that I would go in to more detail about clean eating. Both Abby and I follow […]

Leave a comment